Resources

Below is a selection of resources to help you manage your land, water and wildlife. We’re always adding to this list, so make sure to check back often. If you’d like to suggest that we add something, email us at csconnection@creditvalleyca.ca and let us know.

 

CVC’s Countryside Stewardship program has an extensive Landowner Resource Centre located on CVC’s main website. There you will find resources on invasive species, managing your wetlands, streams, ponds and forests and much more.

 

Agriculture & Local Food

Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/

Greenbelt Fresh http://www.greenbeltfresh.ca/

Ontario Farmland Trust http://ontariofarmlandtrust.ca/

Farmers’ Markets Ontario http://www.farmersmarketsontario.com/

Farm Smart http://farmsmartconference.com/

Farm Start http://www.farmstart.ca/

Farm Link http://www.farmlink.net/en/index.html

Ontario Soil and Crop Improvement Association http://www.ontariosoilcrop.org/

Equine Guelph http://www.equineguelph.ca/

 

Forests

Trees Ontario http://www.treesontario.ca/

Ontario Woodlot Association http://www.ont-woodlot-assoc.org/

Tree Benefits Calculator http://www.treebenefits.com/calculator/ReturnValues.cfm?climatezone=Northeast

 

Funding Programs

Peel Rural Water Quality Program http://www.peelregion.ca/planning/paawg/prwqp.htm

Wellington Rural Water Quality Programs http://www.wellington.ca/en/residentservices/ruralwaterquality.asp

 

Invasive Species

Ontario Invasive Plant Council http://www.ontarioinvasiveplants.ca/

Invasive species reporting and mapping http://www.eddmaps.org/Ontario/

Best Management Practices (BMPs) for controlling invasive plants http://www.ontarioinvasiveplants.ca/index.php/managecontrol

 

Land Use Planning

Oak Ridges Moraine Foundation http://www.moraineforlife.org/index.php

Niagara Escarpment Commission http://www.escarpment.org/home/index.php

Friends of the Greenbelt Foundation http://www.greenbelt.ca/

Source Water Protection http://www.ctcswp.ca

Credit Valley Conservation – Planning & Permits webpage http://www.creditvalleyca.ca/planning-permits/

 

Pollinators

NSERC-CANPOLIN http://www.uoguelph.ca/canpolin/

Bumble Bee Watch www.BumbleBeeWatch.org

Pollination in the Agricultural Landscape – BMPs for Crop Pollination http://www.pollinator.ca/canpolin/images/Pollination%20in%20Agricultural%20Landscape_Woodcock_Final.pdf

 

Septic Systems

Septic Smart http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/environment/facts/sep_smart.htm

Ontario Rural Wastewater Centre http://www.orwc.uoguelph.ca/

Ontario Onsite Wastewater Association http://www.oowa.org/

 

Watershed Science

Credit River Watershed and Region of Peel Natural Areas Inventory http://www.peelregion.ca/planning/pdc/data/monitoring/watersheds/credit-river.htm

 

Wells

Find a Well Record http://www.ontario.ca/environment-and-energy/map-well-record-data

Well Aware http://www.wellaware.ca/

Halton Residential Well Decommissioning Grant http://www.halton.ca/cms/One.aspx?portalId=8310&pageId=11736

Peel Private Well Abandonment Program http://www.peelregion.ca/pw/water/water-trtmt/wellhead-abandon.htm

 

Wildlife

Wildlife Preservation Canada http://wildlifepreservation.ca/

Turtle Tally http://www.torontozoo.com/adoptapond/turtletally.asp

Frog Watch Ontario http://www.torontozoo.com/adoptapond/frogwatchontario.asp